accelerated-reader

Vocabulary Practice Student Comprehension Preference

This preference allows you to require that your students pass the Reading Practice Quiz for a title before they can take the Vocabulary Practice Quiz for the same title. If you enable this preference, when students pass a Reading Practice Quiz, the program will ask if they would like to take the Vocabulary Practice Quiz.

Even if you enable this preference, your students may still be able to take a Vocabulary Practice Quiz without first passing the Reading Practice Quiz if you have set the Override Authorisation Preference to allow the teacher to override blocks on student quizzing. On some sites, students cannot see the Vocabulary Practice Quiz type until they have taken the Reading Practice Quiz if you have set this restriction; in that case, the preference cannot be overridden.

The Vocabulary Practice Student Comprehension Preference is part of the group of Student Quizzing preferences found under the Class preferences.

To view or change the Vocabulary Practice Student Comprehension preference, follow these steps:

  1. On the Home page, click Accelerated Reader, then Preferences.
  2. Click Student Quizzing in the Class Preferences section of the Preferences page.
  3. If necessary, choose a school and class from the drop-down lists on the View Class Student Quizzing Preferences page. If you scroll down, you can see the current setting of the Vocabulary Practice Student Comprehension preference.

If you are a school administrator or school network administrator, you will also have an Edit Student Quizzing link at the top of the page. If you want to change the Vocabulary Practice Student Comprehension preference, select the link.

If you scroll down, you can then change the Vocabulary Practice Student Comprehension preference for the selected class. If the box is ticked, students must pass the Reading Practice Quiz for a title before they can take the Vocabulary Practice Quiz. If you change this setting or other settings on the page, click Save to save your changes or Cancel to leave the page without saving.