Interest Levels

The Interest Level relates to content and age appropriateness, not the difficulty or readability of the text. Books are assigned an Interest Level based on publisher recommendations.

The Interest Level reflects the judgment of the book's publisher and the professionals at Renaissance. However, the final decision on whether the content of a book is appropriate for a particular student is the responsibility of school librarians, teachers and parents.

There are four interest levels:

  • Lower years (LY) for ages 5-8
  • Middle years (MY) for ages 9-13
  • Middle years Plus (MY+) for ages 12 and above
  • Upper years (UY) for ages 14 and above

You can change the Interest Level of a book in Accelerated Reader Bookguide on the Book Details page.

Within each Interest Level, you will find a wide range of book levels to support students who read at, above and below their year.