mathfacts-in-a-flash-uk

Editing the Mandatory Practice Preference

Who can do this with standard capabilities?

School Network/Program Administrators, School Administrators, Teachers

Note: School network staff and school staff can view the setting, but they cannot change it.

The Mandatory Practice preference allows you to require your students to complete a practice after failing the first test at a new level.

The default is: Student is required to practise after failing the first test on a level.

This preference affects

  • MathsFacts in a Flash Renaissance Place (computer or tablet)
  • NEO 2 using the MathFacts in a Flash RP SmartApplet

This preference does not affect

  • NEO 2 using the MathFacts in a Flash (offline) SmartApplet
  • Renaissance Responder (RES-1001) using firmware version 2.xx
  • Renaissance Home Connect (computer or tablet)
  • All classroom preferences are copied (Mandatory Practice, Authorisation Password, Problem Format, Question Type, Time Targets, Time-Out and TOPS Report).
  • Exceptions to preferences are not copied.
  • What is an exception to a preference? Two preferences (Problem Format and Question Type) allow you to set the preference for all of the pupils in a class and also set it individually for one or more pupils. When you set one or both of these preferences for an individual pupil, it is known as an exception.

  • When copying classes, your school can also choose to copy the assigned teachers, assigned products and enrolled pupils.

For details, see Copying Classes from the Previous School Year in the Renaissance Place help.

To edit the preference:

  1. On the Home page, select MathsFacts in a Flash, then Preferences. The Preferences page opens.

  2. If necessary, select a school and class from the drop-down lists (above the preferences tables).
  3. Under the Class Preferences, select Mandatory Practice.
  4. The Mandatory Practice Preference page opens.

  5. Remove the tick mark from the box.
  6. Students will not have to practise after failing the first test at a new level.

    To return to the default setting (practise is required), select Default.

  7. Select Save.