renaissance-place

Deleting Students

Who can do this with default capabilities?

School Network Administrators, School Network Staff, School Administrators

Note: Deleting a student record is not the same as permanently removing a student record when editing multiple students. If a student record has data attached to it, attempting to delete it will only deactivate it; permanently removing it will remove all traces of the record from the database.

If you are a school administrator, you can only delete students who are enrolled in your school; if you are assigned to more than one school, on the Home page, select your name and then select Change Role to select the school that you want to work with.

School Network personnel can delete a student who is enrolled in ay school. You cannot delete students who are not enrolled in a school.

  1. On the Home page, click Users.
  2. Click View Students.
    • Use the School drop-down (if available), choose whether to search in all schools or a specific school, or choose to search for students who are not enrolled in a school. The schools that are available depend on your role.
    • School administrators cannot search for students outside of their school; they do not have a School drop-down list.

    • Choose a year from the drop-down list or leave All selected.
    • Choose a class from the drop-down list or choose to search for students in any class, those not enrolled in a class or all students. (You can only select a specific class if you are searching in a specific school.)
    • If you want to find a specific student, enter the student's first name, ID and/or user name. You do not need to enter the entire name or ID; the software can find partial matches.
  3. Click Search.
  4. The students who matched your search will be listed at the bottom of the page. Click the name of the student you want to delete. (If the list is long, you will see only a part of it; you can click and to move forward and back in the list.)
  5. Note: If the student is in more than one school, the student will be listed more than once; it does not matter which school you select the student for.

  6. You will go to the Student Information page and the Details tab. Click Delete Student toward the bottom of the tab.
  7. The Delete Student page will ask if you are sure that you want to delete the student.
    • If you want to delete the student permanently, tick the Delete Permanently box. If you do this, the student's record cannot be recovered. Note that students who have data attached to them cannot be deleted permanently; they can only be deactivated.
    • If you do not tick this box, the student becomes inactive and you can recover the student later.
    • Click Yes to continue or No if you decide not to delete the student.
  8. The page will notify you that the student has been deleted or deactivated. If the student could not be deleted permanently, the student will be inactive, even if you chose to delete him or her permanently. Click Done.

You can recover students that have been deactivated instead of permanently deleted by either adding a student with the same name.

  • Search for the student by following steps 1-4 above, making sure that Students Not Enrolled in a School is selected for the school. Only school network personnel can search for students who are not in a school.
  • In the search results, click the student's name.
  • On the Student Information page, click the School Enrolment tab to change the student's school enrolment. If this tab is not available, you do not have the capabilities required to enrol students in your school.