renaissance-place

Editing Multiple Students

When you edit information for multiple students, you cannot change all personal information for those students. However, you can increase or decrease students' years by one level, change their passwords, assign or remove student characteristics and permanently delete students and their records.

Who can do this with default capabilities?

School Network Administrators, School Network Staff, School Administrators

If you are a school administrator and you are assigned to more than one school, on the Home page, select your name, then select Change Role to choose the school you want to work with before following these steps.

  1. On the Home page, click Users.
  2. Click Edit Multiple Students.
    • For a list of all students, do not enter any search criteria and skip to step 4. (For school administrators, this will find all students in your school.)
    • School network personnel must choose a school. (If you are a school administrator, your school is automatically selected.)
    • You can select the year, a characteristic or a class.
    • You can enter a first name and/or last name (full or partial; the software can perform partial matches).
    • Tick the Show Un-enrolled Students Only box to only find students that are not enrolled in a school, but that were previously enrolled in the selected school.
  3. Click Search.
  4. The students who matched your search will be listed on the lower-right part of the page.
  5. If the list is long, you will see only part of the list, but you can click Next >> and << Previous to move forward and back through the list. Doing this will automatically cause any students on the selected page to be moved to the left-hand list (just as if you had selected < Add).

    Tick the boxes next to students that need the same information changed and then click < Add to copy them to the left-hand list. To select all the students in the portion of the list that you are viewing, tick the Student box at the top of the list.

  6. Tick the box next to each item that you want to change:
    • Tick this box if you want to add a characteristic to the students. Then, choose the characteristic that you want to add from the drop-down list.

    • Tick this box if you want to remove a characteristic from the students' records. Then, select the characteristic that you want to remove from the drop-down list.

    • If you have noticed that the students have the wrong year level, tick the Year box to increase or decrease the students' year by one. Then, use the drop-down list to choose whether to increase or decrease the year level for the students. Note that students are automatically promoted to the next year level in the software when a new school year begins, so this change should only be necessary if there is an error or if a student was not promoted in your school.

    • Tick this box if you want to change the students' passwords. Then, type the same new password. Please note that this will give all the students the same password.

    • Tick this box if you want to require students to change their passwords the next time they log in.

    • Tick this box if you want to permanently remove the chosen students and their records from Renaissance Place.

      Note: Choose this option only if the students are not enrolled at any school and future access to the students' data is not required. Do not use this option if the student is enrolled in a school or if future access to the students' data is required (for reporting purposes).

      If you choose this option, you will have a 30-day grace period during which you can recover permanently removed students and their records. Once those 30 days have passed, the data cannot be recovered.

      Only school network personnel have the option to permanently remove students. School administrators can only search for students in their own school, and they do not see the option for permanently removing students.

  7. Click Save to apply the changes to the students whose names have been copied to the left-hand list.
  8. If you have chosen to permanently remove students and their records, you will be asked to confirm the permanent removal before proceeding. Once the changes are complete, a confirmation message will open telling you how many students were removed.

  9. If you want to make more changes for multiple students, repeat steps 3-7 above.