Freckle_logo

How do I transfer a pupil or class list to another teacher?

Who can do this with default capabilities?

Teachers

The transfer function makes it easy to pass pupils/class lists (and their data) to another teacher. For example, this action would be useful when all pupils in your Year 4 class move to another teacher for Year 5 (transfer class list). It is also useful when a pupil changes teachers at any point during the school year (transfer pupil).

Transferring Pupils

To transfer a pupil, select Class List in the left navigation bar and follow these steps:

  1. Scroll to the pupil you want to transfer and select the gear icon next to the pupil's name.

  2. Select Share/transfer with another teacher.

    The message reads: 'Do you want to share or transfer this pupil?'
  3. Select the pupil(s) and teacher.

    Make sure the correct pupil(s) is/are ticked and then choose the teacher to whom you want to transfer the pupil(s) by selecting that teacher's name from the drop-down list. All teachers affiliated with your school will be listed. If you do not see a teacher's name, it means the teacher either does not have a Freckle account or is not affiliated with your school. You will need to ask the teacher to sign up for an account or check the teacher's school affiliation.

    The Transfer pupils screen, with three pupils already selected. You can select additional pupils, or use the Select All and Select None links to select or deselect all the pupils at once. At the bottom are drop-down lists where you can select a school and teacher to transfer the pupil to. The Transfer button is below the drop-down lists.
  4. Confirm the transfer of these pupils on the next page. These pupil(s) will move from your account to another teacher's account, and you will no longer have access to their data. You cannot undo this action from your account. Select Transfer pupils to transfer the pupils to the new teacher.

    The message shows which teacher the pupils are being transferred to, and the names of the pupils being transferred. A warning is also shown: 'The teacher you are transferring to will have access to the data for this pupil. You will no longer have access to the pupil or their data.' The Cancel and Transfer pupils buttons are at the bottom.

Transferring Class List

To transfer an entire class list, select Class List in the left navigation bar and follow the steps below:

  1. In the upper-right corner of the class list you intend to transfer, select the gear icon and then select Transfer pupils to a teacher.

  2. Select the teacher to whom all pupils in the class list will be transferred (note that all pupils will be selected).

    The Transfer pupils screen, with all the pupils already selected. At the bottom are drop-down lists where you can select a school and teacher to transfer the pupils to. The Transfer button is below the drop-down lists.
  3. Confirm the transfer of all pupils by selecting Transfer Pupils. Note that this action cannot be undone.

    The message shows which teacher the pupils are being transferred to, and the names of the pupils being transferred. A warning is also shown: 'The teacher you are transferring to will have access to the data for this pupil. You will no longer have access to the pupil or their data.' The Cancel and Transfer Pupils buttons are at the bottom.