renaissance-place

Adding or Removing Students in a Class

Students must be added to their classes before they can use your Renaissance Place software. Follow these steps to add or remove students in a class.

Who can do this with default capabilities?

School Network Administrators, School Network Staff, School Administrators, School Staff

If you are a school administrator or school staff member and you are assigned to more than one school, on the Home page, select your name and then select Change Role to choose the school you want to work with before following these steps.

  1. On the Home page, click Courses and Classes.
  2. If you are a school network administrator or school network staff member, use the School drop-down list on the Courses and Classes page to choose the school that you want to work in.
  3. Click the course that includes the class you want to change.
  4. The next page will list the Complete and Incomplete classes in the course. (Incomplete classes are missing the primary teacher, students or assigned products.) If necessary, click the tab that you need.
  5. Do one of the following:
    • On the tab that you chose in step 4, find the class and click Add/Remove Students in the Actions column.
    • Click the class name. Then, if the class has no students, click Add Students. If it has some students, click Add/Remove Students.
  6. The Add/Remove Students page will list the students who are currently enrolled in the class (if any).
    • To remove a student from the class, click Remove next to the student's name. To remove all students from the class, click Remove All.
    • To enrol other students in the class, first search for the students to add. You can type a specific student's first name and/or last name in the appropriate blank fields. You can also select the student's year from a drop-down list; if you select a year without entering anything in the blank fields the search will find all students in that year. If you want to see a list of all students enrolled in this school, do not enter any information in the blank fields.
    • Next, click Search. The results of your search will appear at the bottom of the page; if the list is long, you will need to click Next >> and << Previous to move forward and back in the list. If you did not find the student(s) that you were searching for, perform another search. You may need to add the student(s) or enrol the student(s) in this school.

      Tick the box next to each student that you want to enrol in this class; if you want to tick all students in the list, tick the Student box at the top of the list. When you have selected the students, click < Add above the list to move them to the list of students who are enrolled in the class.

  7. If you came from the course information page, click Save to save your changes to the students in the class.
  8. If you came from the Add Class or Edit Class page, click Continue to make the class enrolment changes and go back to that page, where you can save all changes to the class.

    Click Cancel to exit the page without making any changes to the class enrolment.

  9. If you go back to the Edit Class page, click Save on that page to ensure that your changes are saved.
  10. If you click Cancel, but you have made changes to the class (including changes to the students and team teachers), an Unsaved Changes window will open. If you want to save the changes you made, click Save. If you want to leave the page without saving any changes (including changes to the students and team teachers), click Do Not Save. To stay on the page, click Cancel.